Rajasthan Theme
Home|| Important Links || RTI Act || Policies || Contact Us || Sitemap


Jhalawar Medical College, Jhalawar

Brief  history  and path of development

If we pass through the golden achievements made in last few decades by this institute  and think of its past, One can not forget the contribution of Honorable  Sh. Mohanlal Sukhadia, the past Chief Minister of Rajasthan , Sh. Barkat Ullaha Khan, the Health Minister of that time and the Finance Minister Sh. B. K. Kaul  along with Dr. S.P. Wanchoo, whose combined efforts made  it possible and another (or 4 th) medical college of Rajasthan  was founded in Ajmer in the year 1965. At that  time , the college was started in the old building of T.B. & Chest diseases hospital with an admission facility  of 50 students per year (which has now been increased to one hundred per year). Dr. S.P. Wanchoo, Superintendent Victoria Hospital , an eminent  surgeon was appointed as first Principal & Controller of this institute , named after the first Prime Minister  of our country , Pandit  JawaherLal Nehru .

Dr. B. B. Maitraiye and Dr. M.K. Patni were appointed as first head of the department of Physiology & Anatomy respectively. Basic facilities for teaching research were made available  and simultaneously , the other department , viz. Pharmalogy Pathology , Forensic Medicine  and P & S.M. were developed.

Meanwhile , the construction of a new building for this medical college was going on in the vicinity of Victoria Hospital now Jawaher Lal Nehru Hospital of that time and all the departments were shifted in the year 1967-68 to the present building



After retirement of  Dr. S.P. Wanchoo from the Govt. services , Dr. M.N. Katzoo , Professor & Head General Surgery ,Dr. R.P. Chaturvedi, Professor & Head Anatomy deptt. ; Dr. S. N. Misra ,Professor & Head  deptt. of medicine ; &  Dr. V.B. Maitraiye , Professor & Head  deptt of Physiolosy respectively remained as principals  ot this college . Meanwhile in the year 1973 , this college was recognized by the  Medical Council of India , for medical graduation course.


                        In  the year 1982 , Dr. J.P. Sethi Professor & Head  deptt of General Medicine was appointed as Principal and Controller of this institute and in his duration commencement of a golden aera of development of this college and hospital began. Various imported and automatic medical instruments were made available to improve the diagnostic and treatment  facilities in the hospital, recent medical text books & reference books were purchased and many national and international journals were subscribed  for the central library which added a lot to teaching and research works. His motivation for public contribution in the development of hospital services will always be remembered as Mr. Ramrichpal Shriya of Ajmer provided a handsome financial support to establish an I.C.U.(Intensive Care Unit) . Thereafter , a separate deptt. of Ophthalmology was also constructed and  named after Late Prime minister ,  Smt. Indira Gandhi, with the passage of time, the process of improvement in diagnostic & treatment facilities as well as in teaching and research , occurred continuously and the institute attained its present shape. Thereafter , Dr. S. K. Sharma Professor & Head  deptt of Pharmacology  and Dr. G. R. Agarwal  Professor & Head  deptt of Radiodiology dept remained as principal .

On Feb , 3rd 1993, Dr. S.D. Purhoit Professor& Head T.B. & Chest medicine took the rains  in his  hand after appointment as Principal and Controller. It was in his time that the Gen Surgery , Pathology, Paediatrics & Radiology departments were recognized by M.C.I for post graduation (M.S./M.D degree) courses. With his efforts, an increase in the financial sanction for the Cobolt Therapy Unit was made possible . Besides this, to establish this unit , a committee was made under the chairmanship of Smt. Aditi Mehta , Additional District Collector of Ajmer, who motivated Sh. Shivshankar Cheritable Trust to construct a building by spending Rs. Sixteen lacs & twenty two thousand for the aforesaid unit. Similarly , a contribution of Rs. Ten lacs by the  Sobhag Cheritable Trust for procurement of equipments in the I.C.U., and the construction of a Ran. Basera in the hospital compus for poor attendants of the patients with public contribution motivated by Sh. Rasa Singh Raswat , member of Parliament from Ajmer , were other important events of that time.


A great achievement was made  when, on March 9th  1995, Sh. Bhairon Singh Shekawat the hon’ble Chief Minister of Rajasthan put the foundation stone of  a three hundred bedded Mother & Child Healthcare Hospital (now Rajkiya Mahila Chikitsalaya ). For this, a 140 bigaha land had already been allotted and  a budget of  Rs. Five hundred & fourty lacs was sanctioned by the Govt. of Rajasthan. Along with this a twenty bedded Deaddiction Centre was also built for which a financial support of Rs. Eight lacs was provided by the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare , Govt. of India ,New Dehli.An Orthopaedics O.P.D. was built with the public contribution and financial support by the Rajasthan Orthopaedic Association , motivated by Dr. Mahesh Udawat , Professor & Head  deptt of  Orthopaedics at that time.

Sh. Bharion Singh Shekawat during foundation stone ceremony of Mother & Childcare Hospital building.

Another feather in the cap was added on Sept. 12th  ,1995 when the Health Minister , Sh. Rajendra Singh Rathod , did the formal inauguration of the Deptt. Of Cardiology , newly constructed Blood Bank Unit , Mammography Unit and Cobalt Therapy Unit and handed over these services for the general public of Ajmer. Medical graduates of year 1966 batch donated a medelor instrument costing Rs. Two lacs and it contributed a lot to faculty members and resident doctors in pursuing their research works. With the  continuous efforts of Dr. Purohit , an ‘Eye Bank’ was established and Lions club Ajmer made its contribution in procuring the equipments for eye bank.


Dr. S.R. Mittal had been the Principal & controller of this college for around three years till June 2008 and during his time, this college and hospital has gone through a vast development.

Dr. N.C.Sharma Professor & HOD Radiodiagnosis, joined as the Principal & Controller of this institute on July 1st 2008 for next few months till April 2009. During his time, under the  scheme of private public partnership, with the kind permission of Government of Rajasthan, installation of a C.T.Scan and M.R.I.Machines were planned which are likely to be functional within next few days. He handed over his charge to Additional Principal Dr. P.K.Saraswat.

© Medical Education Department Nodal Officer: Dr. Sunil Kumar Mathur, Head & Asso.Profesor Department of Pharmacology,Address : 341, Behind Revenue Board Civil Lines, Ajmer
Mobile No.: 9414008259, e-mail : sunrinty@gmail.com
Developed by RISL (RajCOMP) Site Last updated on: 22-02-2017